Provider Type Definition

Major Provider Type/Sub-Type Definition

Adult Day Services

A group program of care offering therapeutic activities and supervision of consumers (not 24 hours per day).

Ambulatory Surgical Centers

State licensed and federally certified providers "that operate exclusively for the purpose of providing surgical services to patients not requiring hospitalization." ASCs perform surgical procedures "that generally do not exceed 90 minutes in length and do not require more than four hours recovery or convalescent time."

Assisted Living

Provides assisted living services to consumers in private apartments.


State licensed and federally certified providers serving patients with renal impairment that requires a regular course of dialysis or kidney transplantation to maintain life. ESRD faciities include renal transplantation centers, renal dialysis centers or renal dialysis facilities. Dialysis is a "process by which dissolved substances are removed from a patient's body by diffusion from one fluid compartment to another across a semi-permeable membrane."

Health Centers/Clinics

Federally certified providers of primary care services.
Federally Qualified Health Centers A provider who offers preventative and primary care services including physician, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, and/or other specialized services.
Rural Health Clinic Federally certified providers of primary care services within certain areas of the state which meet the criteria of rural area location, federally designated shortage area, and/or medically underserved area.

Home Health Care

Home health providers serve clients still residing in a home setting.
Home Health Agency State licensed and federally certified providers furnishing services to patients under the care of a physician in the patient's place of residence.
Personal Care Agency A business or subsidiary of a business that is not otherwise licensed by the Division, and that hires/employs unlicensed assistive personnel to provide assistance with activities of daily living to individuals in the places in which they reside, either permanently or temporarily.


Deliver "a range of interdisciplinary services provided 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to a person who is terminally ill and that person's family. Hospice philosopy is a philosophy of palliative care for individuals and failies during the process of dying and bereavement." It is life afferming and strengthens the client's role in making informed decisions about care. Delivery of services in the least restrictive setting possible and with the least amount of technology necessary by volunteers and professionals who are trained to help clients with the physical, social, psychological, spiritual and emotional needs related to terminal illness is stressed.


Hospitals provide general acute and/or specialized care to patients.
Critical Access Hospital Hospitals with 25 or fewer beds that can be utilized as either acute care or swing beds. The designation falls under a special Medicare grant program.
Psychiatric Hospital Speciality hospitals that provide inpatient psychiatric care to mentally ill patients. Psychiatric Hospitals must meet additional Federal requirements.
Rehabilitation Hospital Speciality hospitals that provide inpatient rehabilitation services.
Short-Term Hospital ACU Providers range in size from 35 to 606 licensed beds and provide acute care to patients.
Transplant Hospital Transplant Hospital

Intermediate Care Facility for Intellectually Disabled

Provide group home or nursing services to clients with intellectual disabilities.

Nursing Home

Provide a wide range of specialized medical and nursing services and employ a variety of therapy and skilled nursing personnel. A nursing facility primarily engages in providing long term nursing care and related services to residents who require medical or nursing care, rehabilitation services, health-related care and services.

Outpatient Physical Therapy/Speech Pathology Services

Federally certified rehabilitiation agencies, clinics and public health agencies that provide physical or speech therapy. They provide "an integrated, multidisciplinary program designed to upgrade the physical functions of handicapped, disabled individuals by bringing together a team of specialized rehabilitation personnel."

Portable X-Ray Providers

Providers offer "diagnostic x-ray tests furnished in a place of residence." Further, "to be certified as a portable x-ray supplier, the mobile unit can neither be fixed at any on location nor permanently located in a SNF or a hospital."

Residential Care

Provides assisted living services to residents in private or semi-private bedrooms
Level I Residential Care A residential care facility with one to two residents.
Level II Residential Care A residential care facility with three to six residents.
Level III Residential Care A residential care facility with three to six residents and three or more employees not related to owner.
Level IV Residential Care A residential care facility with seven or more residents.

Temporary Nursing Agency

Temporary Nursing Agency
Temporary Nurses Agencies Temporary Nurses Agencies