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	Office of Elder Services, 

Department of Health & Human Services
442 Civic Center Drive

11 State House Station

Augusta, ME  04333-0011
Phone  207-287-9200 or 800-262-2232   
FAX  207-287-9229 
TTY 287-9234 or 888-720-1925



	TO:
	Interested Parties

	FROM:
	Mollie Baldwin

	DATE:
	June 26,2007

	SUBJECT:
	Effective IMMEDIATELY


· MaineCare residents now receive a two-year extended eligibility date at the first re-assessment after admission, unless the assessor anticipates the resident's condition may change. As of July 1, 2007 MaineCare residents will receive a five–year extended eligibility date at the first re-assessment after NF admission, unless the assessor anticipates the resident's condition may change.

· For MaineCare residents due for their 90 day reassessment you will begin to see Goold granting an extended classification out to 5 years at the time of the 90 day assessment.
· For MaineCare residents where you are requesting an extension of the existing two year classification, Goold will grant an extended classification out five years.

· Effective July 1, 2007, you will no longer request extensions from Goold.  The web based NF transfer form system has been modified to allow facilities to request the extensions on line to OES. The benefits of the web based system are that you receive confirmation that the Department has received your request and additional confirmation when the appropriate action has been taken by the Department. It saves lots of faxing and many, many trees! 

· To avoid any gaps in payment, please submit the reassessment request for these residents at least five days prior to the reassessment due date as required by policy. Late notifications will result in gaps in payment.  This rule requirement applies whether or not a facility uses the fax versus web based application. The revised assessment paperwork will now provide a five –year classification date

· These changes in no way eliminate the NF’s responsibility to know their payment source and to request timely reassessments as required by policy. Section 67.05-4 states “the NF must submit a complete referral form to request a reassessment at least five (5) calendar days prior to the end date of the resident’s current approved classification …..”.  Late requests per policy requirements, via Goold, OES or the web based system will result in gaps in payment for the NF. 

· For those residents where a two year extension has already been completed, the web transfer form can be used when the next reclassification date comes due. The reclassification must still be requested according to the rules above.  Late requests for extended NF classifications will result in a gap for payment purposes.
· Reassessment of Current NF Resident: Residents with a 90-day medical eligibility will continue to have a face-to-face assessment because those are situations where the resident’s condition often has improved. Based on all relevant information, Goold may grant an extended NF classification at the time of the face to face assessment.  Please pay close attention to the paperwork received regarding subsequent reassessment due dates.  Facilities have experienced difficulty in requesting extensions after  two years-tracking the need to make a request in five years will require NFs to establish an internal tracking system to monitor the extended reclassification due dates.

· NF MaineCare-eligible residents returning to your facility from the hospital no longer require an assessment, unless their bed-hold has expired. However the rules still require that the facility notify the department of the transfer back to the facility and this will trigger a reinstatement. This process can be managed using the NF transfer form web based application.  When a bed hold has expired an assessment must be requested prior to the transfer back to the facility as required in Section 67.
· Medicare to MaineCare (Medicaid): When a MaineCare NF resident returns from the hospital under Medicare, a face-to-face assessment is not needed at the end of the SNF benefit, unless their reassessment date came due during their SNF stay, or they are within the first 90 days of NF eligibility. In these cases, request a reassessment.  After review of the member’s prior assessments, Goold will request the Department to reinstate the prior reassessment date. Policy requires in 67.05-3-B-4 that a NF must request an assessment within five days prior to the exhaustion of their current Medicare coverage. If Goold receives a late request there will be a gap in payment and a face to face assessment will be done. Any reassessment date that existed prior to the admission to the hospital will remain as the reassessment date. OES will fax to the NF the reinstated reassessment date so you have a copy for your records. It is essential that the required assessment requests be submitted to Goold to avoid any gaps in payment.   
Please note: Medicare SNF residents applying for MaineCare still require a face-to-face assessment.

· Bed Holds: Please continue to send the transfer forms to the Department to request bed holds on admission to the hospital, and end bed holds on the return to the NF from the hospital. If the Department does not receive the transfer form within the timeframes defined in Section 67.05-11-B the bed hold will not be granted.  If you do not tell us of a return to your facility the bed-hold screen date will lapse and payment will cease until the medical eligibility is reopened.  
· These changes in re-assessment procedures do not change the NF responsibility to know their payment source and to request timely reassessments as required by policy. Section 67.05-4 states “the NF must submit a complete referral form to request a reassessment at least five (5) calendar days prior to the end date of the resident’s current approved classification …..”
· Other assessment items:
Goold has experienced increasing difficulty in gaining access to copies of electronic records when coming to a NF to do an initial or reassessment. The Department has agreed to request that facilities have the following available for Goold to access when an assessment is scheduled:

· ADL sheets that specifically show the 5 shaded ADL's and amount of assistance provided
· Printed version of current medications ordered and given in the past 7 days, including frequency that PRN medications have been given.
· access to current MDS and past 7 days of information
If these items are not provided so the assessor can complete the assessment, the assessor may leave and this may result in gaps in payment because a timely assessment could not be completed due to lack of written information.
Please contact Cherie Wenzel at 287-9200, or Cherie.Wenzel@maine.gov with any questions or concerns.
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